Call for Papers

The 16th Conference on the Theory of Quantum Computation, Communication, and Cryptography
(TQC 2021)

University of Latvia,
Riga, Latvia
July 5–8, 2021

This is the sixteenth in a series of conferences that aims to bring together the leading researchers in the areas of quantum computation, quantum communication and quantum cryptography.
COVID-19 note: Due to the continuing COVID-19 pandemic, TQC 2021 will be held as a virtual conference. Talks will be scheduled during Latvian business hours (UTC+3).

TQC covers all theoretical aspects of quantum information. Areas of interest include, but are not restricted to:

  • quantum algorithms
  • models of quantum computation
  • quantum complexity theory
  • simulation of quantum systems
  • quantum cryptography
  • quantum communication
  • quantum information theory
  • quantum estimation and measurement
  • intersection of quantum information and condensed-matter theory
  • quantum coding theory
  • fault-tolerant quantum computing
  • entanglement theory
  • quantum machine learning

Invited speakers:

  • Scott Aaronson (UT Austin)
  • Srinivasan Arunachalam (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center)
  • Cécilia Lancien (Institut de Mathématiques de Toulouse and CNRS)
  • Kai-Min Chung (Academia Sinica)

Important dates (AoE, anywhere on earth):

  • Paper/Talk/Early-Poster submission deadline: March 15, 2021
  • Decision notification: April 30, 2021
  • Final manuscript deadline: May 17, 2021
  • Late-Poster submission deadline: May 24, 2021
  • Late-Poster decision notification: June 8, 2021

Two tracks: Conference (talk + proceedings) and Workshop (talk only). As the goal of TQC is to bring together researchers on all aspects of quantum information, submissions are solicited for two tracks:

CONFERENCE TRACK (talk + proceedings): Submissions to this track must be original papers that have not previously appeared in published form. Accepted papers will be presented orally at the conference and will appear in the conference proceedings (published in the well known open-access LIPIcs–Leibniz International Proceedings in Informatics series). The PC will target a minimum of 10 articles to be published in the proceedings and therefore the acceptance rates could differ between the two tracks.

Submission format: The length of the main text must be at most 10 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. The text must be in a single column format, use at least 11-point fonts, and have reasonable margins. The submission should begin with a title, a list of authors, and a short abstract. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Submissions should be in PDF format.

WORKSHOP TRACK (talk only): We solicit submissions for talk-only papers; accepted submissions will be presented orally at the conference but will not appear in the proceedings. This track allows authors to publish their work elsewhere and accepts previously published material. Previously published submissions must still be current to be competitive for acceptance.

Submission format: Submission should consist of a 3 page extended abstract (excluding references) and a technical version, both with at least 11-point fonts and reasonable margins. The extended abstract should contain a non-technical, clear and insightful description of the main ideas, results, and their impact. The technical version will be considered only at the discretion of the program committee. Both the abstract and the technical version should be uploaded as a single PDF file. If the work corresponding to the submission is published, has been submitted elsewhere, or appears on arXiv, then it should be indicated on the first page of the submission.

Depending on submissions received, preference may be given to submissions to the Conference Track. In recent years the overall acceptance rate for all papers submitted to TQC has been approximately 25%. One of the Conference Track submissions will be selected for an OUTSTANDING PAPER PRIZE.

We also solicit poster-only submissions:

POSTER: Submissions must either consist of a short summary (2 pages) of the work, or follow the guidelines from either of the tracks above. If the work corresponding to the submission is published, has been submitted elsewhere, or appears on arXiv, then it should be indicated on the first page of the submission. Talk submissions that are not retained will automatically be considered for the poster session. Authors of poster submissions made before the Early-Poster submission deadline will be notified by the Decision notification date. A Late-Poster round allows for much later submissions (and notification) for posters only.

All submissions for talks or posters must be made electronically through the online submission system EasyChair.

Please direct any questions or comments to the PC chair at

Program committee:

  • Barbara Amaral (Universidade de São Paulo)
  • Anurag Anshu (University of California, Berkeley)
  • Srinivasan Arunachalam (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center)
  • Juani Bermejo-Vega (University of Granada)
  • Hao-Chung Cheng (National Taiwan University)
  • Giulio Chiribella (QICI, The University of Hong Kong)
  • Patrick Coles (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
  • Matthew Coudron (NIST/UMD)
  • Yfke Dulek (QuSoft / CWI, Amsterdam)
  • Bill Fefferman (University of Chicago)
  • Christoph Hirche (Københavns Universitet)
  • Min-Hsiu Hsieh (Hon Hai Quantum Computing Center) (Chair)
  • Rahul Jain (National University of Singapore)
  • Anna Jenčová (Slovak Academy of Sciences)
  • Maria Kieferova (University of Technology Sydney)
  • Isaac Kim (University of Sydney)
  • Ludovico Lami (Universität Ulm)
  • Felix Leditzky (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
  • Anthony Leverrier (Inria)
  • Guang-Hao Low (Microsoft)
  • Chandrashekar C M (Institute of Mathematical Sciences)
  • Xiongfeng Ma (Tsinghua University)
  • Tomoyuki Morimae (Kyoto University)
  • Anand Natarajan (MIT)
  • Miguel Navascues (IQOQI Vienna)
  • Yingkai Ouyang (National University of Singapore)
  • Dave Touchette (Université de Sherbrooke)
  • Anna Vershynina (University of Houston) 
  • Julio I. de Vicente (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)
  • Mischa Woods (ETH)
  • Penghui Yao (Nanjing University)
  • Jon Yard (IQC/Perimeter Institute)
  • Quntao Zhuang (University of Arizona)

Local organizing committee (University of Latvia):

  • Andris Ambainis (Latvia, chair)
  • Kaspars Čikste (Latvia)
  • Juris Smotrovs (Latvia)
  • Aleksandrs Rivoss (Latvia)
  • Jelena Glušakova (Latvia)
  • Dace Šostaka (Latvia)
  • Jevgēnijs Vihrovs (Latvia)
  • Jānis Iraids (Latvia)
  • Mārtiņš Kālis (Latvia)
  • Mārtiņš Kokainis (Latvia)

Steering committee:

  • Gorjan Alagic (Maryland)
  • Andris Ambainis (Latvia)
  • Anne Broadbent (uOttawa)
  • Eric Chitambar (UIUC)
  • Steven Flammia (AWS)
  • Stacey Jeffery (QuSoft & CWI, chair)
  • Laura Mančinska (Copenhagen)
  • Marco Tomamichel (NUS)